About US

The Dibrugarh Hanumanbax Surajmall Kanoi (DHSK) College was established on 15th of June,1945. The College was accredited by NAAC and awarded B++ grade in 2017. College participate in All India Survey of Higher Education (AISHE) and the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) regularly. It was a remarkable day for the people of Dibrugarh and also in the history of Higher Education in Upper Assam. Since then, this day is observed as the establishment day of the college. Since its establishment, it has been a premiere institution of education for the youth of Upper Assam. Dr. Jogiraj Basu, the noted orientalist, became the founder principal of the college.

The college building was first hosted in the George Institute. After a couple of shifting, the college was finally placed in the present venue in 1950. It is a matter of pride that the college building was formally inaugurated by Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, the then honourable Vice-President of India, on 29th December, 1958.

After its establishment, the college was placed under the jurisdiction of Calcutta University, there being no university in Assam till that date. With the establishment of Gauhati University in 1948, the college got its affiliation to the university. Presently the College is affiliated under Dibrugarh University as a provincialised institution since 1965. The academic activities of the college are guided and controlled by the Dibrugarh University and the financial aspects are chiefly dependent on the Department of Higher Education, Government of Assam and University Grants Commission.

DHSK COLLEGE campus is spread in an area of 16.61 acres and known for its environment friendly and sustainable practices. Additional campus facilities such as Auditorium, Boys & Girls Hostel, Computer Lab, Library, Play ground are also available.

D.H.S.K. College provides courses in Higher Secondary (HS), Under graduate (UG) and Post Graduate (PG) in Arts and Science stream.  The HS course is recognised by Assam Higher Secondary Education Council (AHSEC) and UG and PG (in English) courses by Dibrugarh University and PG (in Anthropology and Mathematics) under Assam Science and Technology University.

The college has a total of twenty (20) departments of which 12 are from Arts Stream and 8 from Science Stream. The percentage of successful students in the final University Examination has always been excellent since its inception.

The college has educational programmes which offer Add-On Courses, Self-financing Courses, and Distance Learning Programmes. The infrastructure allows for easier access to common facilities available in the College which are shared by different departments. The computers, Internet and Wi-Fi facilities are easily accessible to all the departments and students of the college to conduct their research and perform academic related tasks. Classrooms are equipped with ICTs for training and classroom lecturing purposes. Research facilities like Institutional Biotech hub, Central Instrumental Facility, Language Lab, Mathematics laboratory are also present.

The College has a vision of providing higher education to students of  all sections of the society. The college have evolved a participatory system which allows all the stakeholders to work together. Dr. Sashi Kanta Saikia, present principal of the College has been served the society as the State Brand Ambassador of Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, Assam.

error: Content is protected !!