Student Union 2021

DHSK College, Dibrugarh has achieved an another milestone by conducting Students’ Union election 2021-22 through web based application on LMS software

Dibrugarh Hanumanbax Surajmall Kanoi College, one of the pioneer institutes of Assam with approximately 3500 students studying in different branches of science and arts disciplines. With its 77 years of glorious existence the college offers master degree courses in English, Anthropology and Mathematics subjects also. The college also offers distance mode of education under Krishna Kanta Handique State Open University. The BCA course run by the college under the affiliation of Dibrugarh University has great demand among the students. The students of the college have made the college proud on various occasions at national and international level in the last 77 years. A group of national and international advisors always guide the college authority and students in different academic activities. The college always strives to take forwards its student activities through different collaborative efforts with its various industrial and institutional collaborative partners. The college also received the Best Discipline College Award in 2019 Dibrugarh University youth festival; its clean and green campus is a source of inspiration for all the nature lovers. DHSK College received National Level 2nd Rashtriya Swachhata Puraskar-2017 and Dibrugarh Swachhata Puraskar 2018 awarded by Dibrugarh District Administration and Dibrugarh Municipal Board. Principal Dr. S. K. Saikia himself take part in the cleaning activities of the college campus with Green Club Members and boarders of the Boys’ and Girls’ hostels daily at 5 O’ clock in the morning including Sundays and holidays. With continuous efforts of the principal Dr. Sashi Kanta Saikia, the college has been able to achieve new heights. Principal Dr. Sashi Kanta Saikia has already been conferred with a number of awards and honours along with ‘Karmasurjya’ and brand ambassador of Swachh Bharat Mission (NAMASTE), Assam, as recognition of his efforts towards academia, society and clean and green environment. The college has recently written a new success story by conducting Students’ Union election for the year 2021-22 in a web-based application on LMS software. Probably it is the first time in the country for a general degree college to conduct its Students’ Union election in completely online mode. Total 38 students contested for 14 posts and total 2606 students casted their votes out of total 3468 number of student voters. For the first time in the history of Kanoi College the highest percentage of vote casted in this year’s election, which is 75.14%. The college has been conducting the students’ elections in digital platform since 2018, which has now reached to another level this year. In this year’s election, voters were able to cast their votes through their registered mobile number through OTP verification. The system has already been tested and verified a number of times with the candidates and interested students. The interest of the students with this new system can be judged from the fact that during the very first hour of voting total 1376 students casted their votes, which was a record based on previous year’s elections. The principal of the college Dr. Sashi Kanta Saikia thanked all the advisors of students Union and also thanked the students for peaceful conduct of the election. He further said that this is another milestone of the college towards achieving Digital India initiatives of the Government of India. The principal offered his special thanks to academic coordinator Dr. Ananta Kr. Dutta, vice principal Dr. Priya Dev Goswami, Coordinator, IQAC Dr. Mridul Sarma, Coordinator- Students Relations Dr. Jyoti Prasad Phukan, Coordinator- Innovation Aditya Dahal, Academic Coordinators Dr. Ranjan Changmai, Dr. Alakananda Boruah and Dr. Moromi Talukdar for supervising the technical aspects of the system and also thanked system developer Kakul Bezbaruah for his efforts. In the 2021-22 students’ union election Syed Rohit Rahman was elected as the president, Biman Sonowal as Vice President, Kabya jyoti Sonowal as general secretary, Partha Pratim Gohain as Assistant General Secretary, Ayush Sahani as secretary of Social Work, Minor Games Secretary Debabrot Gogoi, Lakshyajit Das  as Music Secretary, Priyangana Mili as Cultural Secretary, Madhujyya Chetia as Debating Secretary, Dwimon Mudoi as Gymnasium Secretary and Subraj Das Sonowal elected as Student’s Common Room Secretary along with class representatives and a number of uncontested winners . The whole voting system started with a mock poll in the morning and supervised by 30 Professors of the college. A group of losing candidates set rare examples by congratulating the winners with Assamese traditional Gamosha.





  • Total number of Votes in the Register of Voter list: 3468
  • Total number of People That Casted Votes 2606
  • Percentage of Vote Cast: 75.14%
SL No.PortfolioCandidateVotesResult
1PresidentSyed Rohit Rahman1838Elected
2Vice-PresidentBiman Sonowal905Elected
3General SecretaryKabya Jyoti Sonowal1585Elected
4Assistant General SecretaryPartha Pratim Gohain1612Elected
5Social Service SecretaryAyush Sahani1399Elected
6Minor Games SecretaryDebabrata Gogoi1088Elected
7Music SecretaryLakhyajit Das1132Elected
8Cultural SecretaryPriyangana Mili748Elected
9Debating SecretaryMadhujya Chetia1170Elected
10Gymnasium SecretaryDimon Mudoi1487Elected
11Boys’ Common Room SecretarySubraj Das Sonowal670Elected
12Class Representative for TDC 1st Sem (Science)JUN PORJA150Elected
13Class Representative for TDC 3rd Sem (Arts)BISWAJIT SAIKIA200Elected
14Class Representative for TDC 3rd Sem (Science)GEETARTHA SAIKIA93Elected

error: Content is protected !!